Who We Are

Established in 1990, the Orange County Chapter of NIRI currently has a membership of approximately 40 professionals including corporate practitioners and investor relations consultants representing public companies of all sizes across a wide spectrum of industries, as well as the service providers who support the profession. The chapter hosts a number of meetings and networking events throughout the year featuring topics of relevance to investor relations officers (IROs) and other professionals who interact with IROs or the investment community.

About NIRI

Founded in 1969, the National Investor Relations Institute (NIRI) is the professional association of corporate officers and investor relations consultants responsible for communication among corporate management, shareholders, securities analysts and other financial community constituents. The largest professional investor relations association in the world, NIRI’s more than 3,300 members represent over 1,600 publicly held companies and $9 trillion in stock market capitalization (www.niri.org).

Investor Relations Definition

Investor relations is a strategic management responsibility that integrates finance, communication, marketing and securities law compliance to enable the most effective two-way communication between a company, the financial community, and other constituencies, which ultimately contributes to a company’s securities achieving fair valuation. (Adopted by the NIRI Board of Directors, March 2003.)

Board of Directors

The NIRI Orange County Board of Directors is responsible for all activities of the local chapter, and serves as the local representatives of NIRI National. Additionally, the Orange County board strives to maintain relationships with other local professional organizations representing individuals who interact with IROs or the investment community. We invite you to contact members of the board to discuss chapter matters or topics of interest affecting investor relations professionals.

NIRI Orange County board members are elected by chapter members and serve one-year terms except for the Treasurer, who is elected to serve a two-year term.

View the NIRI National Board of Directors

NIRI Regulatory Positions

NIRI is committed to addressing and supporting the regulatory concerns of investor relations professionals – a particularly useful benefit in the current regulatory atmosphere.  NIRI has encouraged its local chapters to appoint advocacy ambassadors to provide input on regulatory issues and to help build grassroots support for NIRI’s reform priorities.  The Orange County Chapter’s Advocacy Ambassador for the 2018/19 season is Mark Collinson.

View additional information regarding NIRI’s positions on important financial regulatory reform issues

Code of Ethics

Regular Member Code of Ethics

A regular member practices investor relations with a corporation or a counseling firm on a full- time basis or as an additional responsibility.
Regular Member Code of Ethics Statement

Associate Member Code of Ethics

An associate member works with regular members by providing support services to the corporate investor relations function.
Associate Member Code of Ethics

Enforcement and Communication of the NIRI Code of Ethics

NIRI urges compliance with its Code of Ethics by positively communicating the ideals of professional ethics and practice rather than through negative sanctions. However, members of NIRI who are sanctioned by an appropriate governmental agency or judicial body for violating laws or regulations affecting their professional activities may, upon recommendation of the NIRI Ethics Council, have their membership terminated by the NIRI Board of Directors following procedures in the Institute’s bylaws.

Revised 6/9/18

Ethics Council

The NIRI National Board formed this independent Council in order to elevate the importance of ethical issues and provide additional resources to the membership and the Board itself. The Council acts as a sounding board and mentor to members regarding ethical matters that may arise during their practice — both for investor relations professionals and those providing products and services to the investor relations community.
Ethics Council Members and Policy Statement